Pineapple on Pizza

There’s an ongoing meme/war about whether or not pineapple is an adequate pizza topping. Usually people refer to it as “pineapple does/doesn’t belong on pizza,” which is such a funny way to phrase it to me. Using the word “belong” suggests it’s more about categorization than opinion. People say “pineapple belongs on pizza” the same way they’d say “socks belong on feet,” or “pineapple doesn’t belong on pizza” as if it’s like saying “concrete doesn’t belong on the food pyramid.”

If you must know, I think that pineapple is a great pizza topping. I mean, okay – I think pineapple belongs on pizza. I guess I should adhere to the meme’s format. Pineapple on a pizza creates a mixture of different flavors, which is fun and adventurous. It’s much less bland and a more fulfilling flavor experience.

I think part of this debate stems from a difference in eating habits growing up. It’s possible that the pineapple on pizza fanatics grew up eating more diverse foods than the opposing side. What does that mean, exactly? Maybe, people who grew up eating foods from other cultures are more likely to embrace the uniqueness of pineapple on pizza. I grew up eating Indian food often and now, I’m a fan of pineapple on pizza. I guess I ate a variety of Indian and American foods throughout my life and pineapple on pizza is just one of them.

One thing a lot of people don’t acknowledge when discussing pineapple on pizza is that no matter what side you’re on, it’s a weird thing to do. Fruit on pizza is odd. So, I think the difference is that one side thinks “That’s weird, why would anyone do that?” while the other is more like, “That’s weird, and I’m into it.” I’d love to see the meme evolve into inferring that pineapple on pizza equals fun and pineapple not on pizza equals boring. Maybe, something like:

Pineapple on pizza: Went to Thailand, took a train ride, had fun
Pineapple not on pizza: Stayed home, cried, fell asleep at 6:00 p.m.

Pineapple on pizza: Wears whatever they want, feels great, starts a new fashion trend
Pineapple not on pizza: Wears a t shirt, sits in a corner, doesn’t have friends

Pineapple on pizza somehow became such a polarizing topic. I know it’s a joke and the outrage is exaggerated, but it’s still worth considering. I think the weirdness of pineapple on pizza is why it’s such a hot topic. But now, it’s been found that there are plenty of people on both sides of the issue. I wonder if there’s a person in between like, “I mean, it’s a free country. People can do whatever they want. I guess it won’t affect me either way.”

No matter what side you’re on, you’re not alone. If you truly want to be bold, you should suggest something else – like, kale on pizza. Or, tell people that they should roll their pizza slice into a tube before eating. Your pineapple as a topping opinion isn’t radical anymore. Try harder.

 

Leave a Reply

