The Breakfast Club and Life in General

I recently received a shirt about the movie The Breakfast Club at a clothes swap.  The top says “five strangers with nothing in common, except each other.” The next line is “A brain, an athlete, a princess, a basket case and a criminal.” Below this text is a picture of the five main characters of the movie. Below the picture, it says “The Breakfast Club.” Underneath that is “before the day was over, they broke the rules, bared their souls, and touched each other in a way they never dreamed possible.”

breakfast club.jpg

I love this movie. If you don’t know, it’s about five different high schoolers who spend a day together in detention. With it being detention, they can’t really use their phones. But also, this movie premiered in 1985 – a time in which a phone was just for phone calls. Very ancient. So, they all have conversations and in the process, really dig into themselves and each other.

This movie really taught me that human beings are walking information capsules. If you talk to someone and listen to what they have to say, you could learn anything. You’ll never know what insight you’ll gain. I love talking to people in stores, on vacation, and in other places. It’s important to absorb the world around you.

I went on a dinner cruise in Maui and saw someone wearing headphones. He might have had a conversation with his parents like this:

The parents: We’re going on a dinner cruise! We’ll literally watch the sunset and eat dinner while in the ocean. We will be in the actual ocean, but still able to breathe and stay dry. What a life!
Him: Yeah, whatev. I’ve seen water. I’ve eaten food. I once saw an Instagram model post a picture of a sunset. I’m bringing my headphones.
The parents, on the day of the cruise: Oh, he was being serious. I guess now we can talk about anything. He’ll never hear.

I sort of feel bad for him. I think he really missed out. It’s good to go places, meet people, and try new things. It’s good to embrace experiences. It helps you grow as a person. I know that sometimes, people don’t want to be talked to. There are times when you just want to be left alone, and that’s okay. But every so often, you should talk to others.

The Breakfast Club is a really popular movie, but I think people view it as something that’s pretty far off from reality. They feel removed from that sort of experience and don’t think it could ever happen to them. Honestly, when I first saw the movie – it sort of made me want to be assigned detention. I thought it would be this rad adventure and I’d walk away from it with a new perspective.

I’m no longer in high school, so I guess I’ll never have a day of detention that sort of serves as a cathartic experience. But can’t we make our own breakfast clubs? I think we could listen to other people in our day to day lives and have it sort of be the same thing. Maybe, the message of the movie is less “get in trouble and earn yourself a day in detention” and more “ask someone a question and pay close attention to the answer.”

Leave a Reply

