It’s Okay to Change Your Mind

I deleted some of the things I posted on this blog. At one point, I liked the piece of writing enough to post it. But then, time passed and I stopped liking it. Maybe, I looked back and decided that it wasn’t a good post. Or, maybe I changed my mind about the subject I wrote about. If someone were to ask me about something that I deleted, I’d explain that because I changed my mind, I removed it because I didn’t like it anymore. It would be that simple.

It’s okay to change your mind. Maybe, you have become more open minded over the years. That’s rad. But you don’t have to pretend that you were always that way. Maybe, you’re not proud of who you used to be. You might look back and think something like, “I don’t know how I was so unwilling to embrace feminism.” But that’s the past anyways. All you have is the present and future. You have to learn to be okay with the things you can’t control.

I don’t think that changing your mind is a bad thing. I think that change can represent growth. Change can mean that you learned more and allowed that knowledge to remold you. It can mean that you had more experiences and they gave you insight.

I didn’t realize how much I like to write until shortly before I turned 18. Then, I decided to major in Journalism. A lot of people even change their majors while in college. I know the narrative of “I ALWAYS KNEW THIS WAS WHAT I WAS GOING TO BE. Ever since I was a child, this was my passion” is supposed to be inspiring, but it’s odd to me. How did you figure everything out so quickly? How did you never change your mind? When I hear that someone always knew what their life path was going to be, I sort of wonder if they spent enough time considering other possibilities.

As I write this, I keep thinking of Amy Schumer’s book, The Girl with the Lower Back Tattoo. She wrote that she didn’t begin performing stand up until she was 23 and two years out of college. So, this might mean that when she was in college, she didn’t realize that she was going to be such an accomplished comedian. She wasn’t even involved in comedy yet. But then at some point, she changed her mind. 

Another thing Schumer wrote in her book is that when she was 18 years old, she got a lower back tattoo. The title of the book is a legitimate description of her, as well as a play on the title of another book, The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo. She mentions that the tattoo is crooked. In an Instagram caption, Schumer once hashtagged a photo featuring the tattoo with a message about how her tattoo is cool and she doesn’t regret getting it at 18. It feels sarcastic. So, it’s very possible that she got this tattoo, then changed her mind about it. But she’s still alive, isn’t she? She writes in her book that although she has this tattoo, she was also on the cover of Vogue magazine. She’s changed her mind throughout her life, but she’s still thriving.

Changing your mind won’t necessarily ruin your life. And sometimes, changing your mind isn’t avoidable. You might read an article on the Internet. Or, you might meet someone new. Or, maybe something tragic will happen to you. These things might make you change your mind about something, and you won’t really be able to do anything about it.

Leave a Reply

