I Love Barnes and Noble So Much

On Wednesday, I spent an hour and a half in Barnes and Noble. At first, I felt that I had wasted so much time. But it takes about the same amount of time – an hour and a half – to watch a movie. So, maybe it’s not that long, really. And you know what? I had a good time. I got lost in the barnes and the nobles.

It’s one of my favorite stores, for sure. I’ve always browsed, but have never really explored. On Wednesday, I saw every part of the store. It felt like an adventure. Adventures are healthy for the soul.

In the back of the store, there is a travel section. There are books on different cities, countries, and nations. Being back there reminded me how much I wanted to travel. When I saw the paper maps of different places, I thought they were so cute. What a millennial-esqe thing to say. Somewhere, an older person is thinking, “These twenty somethings thing the struggle of your leaking water bottle smearing the ink on a map is ‘cute.’ They think my arms becoming sore from holding it open is ‘cute.’ They think not being automatically rerouted by Google Maps is ‘cute.’ Well then alright.” I wanted to buy a map, but I knew my phone would render it useless. They’re so cute, though 😦

If you don’t sit on the ground at some point at Barnes and Noble, you’re not shopping hard enough. I sat on the ground while facing the humor section. I came across a book called I Hope they Serve Beer in Hell by Tucker Max. I didn’t buy it, but I read the author’s biography on the back cover and have been thinking about it so much. Author Tucker Max:

  • Attended law school on an academic scholarship
  • Didn’t buy textbooks during his last two years of law school
  • Lived in Cancun for a period of time while enrolled in law school classes

This dude is a real person, and also, maybe, who I want to be? I don’t want his specific life, but just his general way of living. I think I’m getting there. I’ve already given up on being 100 percent normal. I’m an Indian person who is majoring in journalism. If you don’t know, that’s really odd. I’m supposed to major in a science. When I tell Indian people my major, there’s always a slight pause. But this is who I am!!! I wore bows in my hair until I was 17 and I might even start wearing them again. I once went on a slip & slide in jeans. I’m obsessed with elephants. This is who I am.

The book I ended up buying Modern Romance by Aziz Ansari. I’ve been wanting to read it for a while because I think Aziz Ansari is such a brilliant comedian.

I still have money left on my gift card. I could buy… a map? I’m sorry, but I still want one. It’s 2016, so the only thing I could do with it is post a picture of it on Instagram. Captions could be:

  • “Travel essentials! I know, I know. It’s a map. But I’m just so old fashioned. Nothing more old fashioned than doing it for the ‘gram.”
  • “When I travel, I turn into a new person. This time around, I think traveling turned me into someone from the 50s. XOXO.”
  • “Tourist vibes! I love foreign countries! Except for, like, the foreigners there. Ugh.”

 

3 thoughts on “I Love Barnes and Noble So Much

  1. I have a love/hate relationship with bookstores. I love going and usually find something, but they almost never have the books I want, so I have to settle for something random (which is sometimes good, sometimes horrible!) and go to Amazon…
    Also, maps are great! I find them easier to work with than apps.

    Like

      1. It’s totally fun (when I don’t want anything specific :P) I spend a good hour or two there sometimes, sort of like the record store. Finding an unknown gem makes up for the times I find nothing.

        Like

Leave a Reply

