If You Really Want To, You’ll Find A Way

I once read about a girl who didn’t get to buy the dress she wanted. Her mom didn’t approve of it and made her buy a boring dress instead. The girl could have worn the boring dress. But she decided to save her lunch money to buy the cool dress she wanted.

She found a way to get the cool dress because if you really want to do something, you’ll find a way. If you didn’t find a way, you didn’t want it that badly. I turn 20 on Monday and I still haven’t been to a concert. I really wanted to growing up, but was too young to go alone and my parents never really took me to one. Then, I got older and was allowed more freedom. A lot of the concerts I want to go to are in cities hours away and my parents don’t allow me to drive distances that far. There are concerts closer by, but  I still don’t know if my parents would let me go.

There was a Cage the Elephant concert six months ago that I planned on attending. It was close by, a band I was interested in seeing, did not have an age minimum of 21, affordable, and something my mom allowed me to do. And I didn’t go. My friend and I talked about going together, but she didn’t end up attending. So, I didn’t either. I wasn’t really sure if my parents would want me to go to a concert alone.

But if I really wanted to see Cage the Elephant, I would have found a way. Instead, I didn’t find someone else to go with. I didn’t ask all of my other friends if they wanted to go. I just forgot about it.

Sometimes, I ask myself why I still haven’t done certain things. I live about two hours away from Yosemite and haven’t been since I was a child. I’m a day trip away from a national park that people plan extensive trips to hike in and I have no memories whatsoever of going. My parents don’t have a strong interest in going and they wouldn’t allow me to drive there. There’s public transit that goes up there, but they wouldn’t let me be there alone.

Here’s the thing, though. If I really want to go to Yosemite, I’ll make it happen. I’ll ask my best friend Penny to drive. I’ll pick a day. I’ll ask my parents.

I haven’t been to Yosemite recently or a concert ever for the same reason – I haven’t wanted to badly enough. I could have made it happen. There are concert tickets as little as 10 dollars. I’ve spent that on lunch before. Yosemite has always been driving distance away from me. And here I am, writing on my blog about the things I haven’t done.

Right now, I’m the girl wearing the dress her mom bought for her. I’m boring dress girl. But I should be the girl who doesn’t buy lunch and wears the cool dress. My mom knows about this blog, so she might read this and think I mean I should break the rules. No, mom. It’s a metaphor.

Next month, I really want to attend something in San Francisco. I’m not allowed to drive, but there’s the Amtrak. If my mom says no, I guess I can’t go. But one of the most important pieces of advice I’ve ever learned is “if you don’t ask, you’ll never know.”

I want to wear the cool dress, not the boring dress my mom insisted I wear. (My mom recently bought me a dress, so I hope she doesn’t take this too literally if she’s reading.)

Leave a Reply

