Will I Ever Travel?

Just like everyone else, I want to travel. There’s nothing wrong with wanting something that a lot of people want. Maybe, we all want it because it’s a good thing. If you hear that I want to travel and sarcastically think, “Sooooo original” then maybe you shouldn’t drink water. Do you know how many other people drink water? Soooo original. Not. You just want the same liquid as everyone else. Get a personality.

I want to experience other cultures and learn from them. I want more stories to tell others. Amsterdam has an Anne Frank museum, and I love museums! It’s also so pretty there. Thailand has scenic beaches and soooo many elephants. I love elephants. Australia seems so neat and I would love to see what really goes on down there.

I’ve considered giving up on my dream of traveling to other countries. Is it realistic? Right now, I’m in college and not making enough money to go somewhere. I’d love to study abroad, but I don’t know if my parents would let me. Then, I’ll graduate and start working. Will I ever be able to afford to travel the world?

Giving up on this dream is probably the responsible thing to do. But I don’t want to be responsible!!!!!!!!! Look at me!!!!!!!!!! I’m irresponsibly using exclamation marks!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I don’t want to not travel. It’s what I want to do!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I want to do it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

The reason I do things like consider giving up on dreams because it’s the responsible thing to do is because I don’t want people to think I’m stupid. Why am I like this? Why am I already so negative? I should be young and full of life.

I’m definitely concerned about people thinking I’m stupid. Last week was my first week of school. As a first day activity, my professor asked us to write where we see ourselves in 5, 10, and 30 years. We had to share in front of the class. I became so worried about opening up to people I barely knew. So, I wrote vague answers like “In five years, I’d like to pay rent.” I didn’t want people to think, “Yeah, good luck with that one” while listening to me speak. Other people shared their answers and I realized that no one else took my approach. People talked about wanting to become professional athletes, retire early, or pursue difficult careers. And you know what? We were all so supportive of each other’s dreams.

Will I ever travel? I will. Maybe, I’ll just go to one place. Maybe, it’ll take time. If I really want to do it, I will figure it out. I can save up money, even though I’m never going to be rolling in cash. I don’t need to give up my dreams to be responsible. Rather, I need to go after my dreams responsibly.

Leave a Reply

