Are We Allowed to Dream?

“Trying to make a dollar out of 15 dreams.” – “15 Dreams” by New Politics

A few weeks ago, I read the novel A Work in Progress. It’s a memoir written by Connor Franta, an internet personality who also created his own lifestyle brand called Common Culture. When I read his memoir, I found out that Franta dropped out of college because he didn’t feel that earning a degree was necessarily the path for him.

When I hear something like this, I so badly want to believe that people, like Franta, should go after what they want and follow their dreams, even if they feel out of reach. It seems like it worked out well for him. He now has his own brand, after all. But is pursuing what you want the right decision? Are we allowed to dream? Or, are dreams just for children who think anything is possible? Ideally, I’d follow my dreams and be able to pay rent. Is that feasible?

A dream can mean a lot of different things. I often think of it as a life goal that others will doubt. I think there are a lot of people who are afraid to tell others what they truly want to do with their lives for fear of not being taken seriously.

Are we allowed to dream? It’s a hard question to answer. I have found that a lot of my friends are supportive of my dreams. They reassure me that I can make it. They tell me  that I am good enough. They encourage me to go after it. What do my friends have in common, for the most part? They’re all around my age, which is 19. Our age group often doesn’t get taken very seriously.

I’ve had a hard time writing this post. I’ve done a lot of backspacing. I’ve written things that seems pro – dream, but changed my mind because I feel that no one will want to hear it because I’m young. Then, I’ll write something that seems anti – dream and erase it because it doesn’t sound like my true self. I don’t know if being taken seriously by older people, like post grads, is much of a possibility at this age. I have dreams, but I think I can only share them with people around my age. They’re the only ones who will listen. I’d like to think that I’m worth listening to, but I’m heavily biased.

I don’t know where to go from here. I don’t know what to do with my dreams. I know this piece of writing should have some sort of a message to take away from it, but I’m just so conflicted. As a 19 year old, I don’t know what I’m allowed to feel and what I’m not allowed to feel. I know what I feel, but I don’t know what I’m allowed to feel. What I do know is that I have dreams and I’m okay with never being rich in order to achieve them.

Leave a Reply

