There’s No Escaping the Internet

Jacob Sartorius is a 13 – year – old with over 3 million Instagram followers and his own song. He gets made fun of a lot. Often, it’s for tweets like these:

The one that says “DM me if you guys ever need anything” makes me laugh because he has over 500,000 twitter followers. Oh yeah, I’m sure he’ll get back to you if you need anything.

He’s only 13 years old. When he gets older, he’ll be a different person. That’s how life works – you become 13, then you’re no longer 13 and you regret the person you were at 13. If you’re still the same person you were when you were 13, you need help. If you’re 13 and you’re reading this, um, I’m sure you’re a lovely person.

I feel bad for Jacob. I’m still going to laugh at jokes about him, but I feel bad for him. His 13 – year – old shenanigans are being noticed by many because of his social media presence. I was dumb when I was 13, but at least I wasn’t a celebrity at that time. So, no one really knows who I was then.

This is the side of social media and the internet that no one really talks about – it amplifies people’s silliness and showcases it for everyone to see. When I realized this, I thought it meant that I grew up at the right time.

But there are a lot of benefits of social media that I missed out on. Social media normalized selfies, and as a result, normalized not hating yourself. It brings attention to issues that don’t get talked about elsewhere – like on television or in classrooms. Social media gives people a platform to voice their opinions. Sometimes, it’s an opinion no one cares about. But sometimes, its worth listening to.

And its entertaining. I love reading certain people’s tweets. Social media makes me laugh all the time.

At 19 years old, I’m the luckiest. I’m too old to be a jacob sartorius, but still young enough to know my way around social media. Have you ever seen a mom on Facebook? It’s hilarious. My life rocks.

Leave a Reply

