One of the Better Nights of My Life

Last Friday, I hopped on the northbound Amtrak to attend the live show for this one podcast I listen to called The Brilliant Idiots in San Francisco. It’s hosted by Andrew Schulz and Charlamagne tha God. Before attending, I told my friends about it. They asked what happens during the show, and all I could really say was, “Well like, they talk.”

But like, it’s more than that. They talk to the audience as well. And they roast everyone. They answer questions at the end, so I asked them if they feel that people who grew up with money can be taken seriously as motivational speakers. I first told them that I think they’re funny and intellectual. Andrew and Charlamagne (can I just casually call them by their first names? I don’t know. I’m going with it) called me a d***rider (I know, asterisks are lame. But I think my parents read this blog.) I guess they’re not wrong. Also, Charlamagne asked me if my last name was Mohammed. I didn’t realize it then, but Mohammed isn’t even a last name. It’s a first name. That’s not even an accurate roast.

Although the two poked fun at a plethora of individuals that night, it’s all in good fun. I met them after, and they are such kindhearted souls. They’re genuinely good people. They’re pieces of treasure.

Andrew and Charlamagne are essentially the polar opposite of people who seem to like you, but really don’t. They seem to not like you, but they really do. Attending their show reminded me not to take life so seriously. I wish I could do it all over again. I’m still wearing the wristband I received last Friday. It’s currently Tuesday. It’s an ugly faded red now, but I don’t want to take it off.

It was one of the better nights of my life. I’d encourage everyone to try to attend a live show of theirs.

Leave a Reply

