Five Underrated Aspects of The Big Short

Three days ago, I saw The Big Short. I also went alone, which was a solid decision. Nobody talked to me during the good parts. And the theater barely had other individuals, so I was really enjoying myself. I used two armrests and my feet were up. Ball so hard.

The Big Short is based upon the US economic catastrophe of 2007. It shows what the bankers were doing beforehand that led up to the crash. It was interesting and insightful. You should definitely watch it.

Here’s my list of underrated aspects of The Big Short. I won’t ruin the movie for you, don’t worry.

  1. The explanations – Sometimes, the film would take a short break from whatever was happening to explain something about banking that average people might not know. Margot Robbie provided one, for example. There were some stellar analogies. The movie was made so well for younger people that don’t really get this stuff, but it seems like millennials aren’t really the ones watching.
  2. Margot Robbie’s accent – She didn’t have that accent in Wolf of Wall Street! I am so mad. Maybe even offended.
  3. The realness – The movie takes place in the early to mid 2000s, and everything matched the time. Nobody owned a smartphone and at one point, I saw The Hills on tv. Side note: who remembers the iconic line, “YOU KNOW WHAT YOU DID HEIDI?!” The line that shaped a generation. Anyways, the movie was truly set in its time, and I respected it.
  4. The soundtrack – Like I just said, early to mid 2000s. The music was definitely of that time. Songs included “Feel Good” by the Gorillaz. It actually took me a bit of time to realize what they were doing. At first, I was all, “Oh, quite the throwback there.” Then I figured it out, and was impressed.
  5. The ending – The movie ends with the 2007 economic crash. That doesn’t count as me ruining the ending. You should have already known that. But when it all goes down, the narrator drops some knowledge on us about how economics work in the United States and et cetera. Basically, I understand Bernie Sanders’ run for presidency more now.
2 thoughts on “Five Underrated Aspects of The Big Short

  1. 1. You’re a baller for going to the theater alone. Never let anyone tell you otherwise.
    2. I agree with everything you say here! I saw the movie over the holidays and was blown away by how little I heard about it/how good it was. It should be a required movie for high schoolers to learn about the economy.

    Like

Leave a Reply

