Experiences

Last Friday, I went to dinner with some hip gals and one of them, Lindsay, told a really cool story. She heard music while showering in a hotel room, went outside, followed the music, and ended up getting to see the All American Rejects for free. And like, that’s the coolest thing.  “Dirty Little Secret” is my song. I guess the reason I felt jealous is because I’ve never been to a concert before. I wanted to see Pusha T, Vic Mensa, Travis Scott, Chance the Rapper, and Kanye last month with my sister, but it didn’t work out. But I’m trying not to be too sad because I’m sure it’ll happen at some point. Once I find something I want to go to that’s not too far away, and someone to go with, and enough money to go, it’s freaking happening.

I really love hearing people’s stories. That day, before dinner, I was at Barnes and Noble and I passed by a book titled Really Professional Internet Person. Quite the title. I opened up to a random page and started reading. The author, Jenn McAllister, used to live in a horrible apartment in Los Angeles. She and her roommates didn’t use the oven because if they did, it would smell. And then I stopped reading because I didn’t want to be one of those people that reads a book in a store instead of, you know, buying it. I think I would’ve bought it right then and there if I had enough money.

I ordered the book on Amazon last night because I REALLY NEED TO HEAR HER WHOLE STORY. I want to know!!!! I! Love! Stories! Sometimes, I hear them and become sad, though, because I feel that I don’t have any that compare. What have I done that’s as awesome as literally running into a concert or moving to LA?

But actually, I do have stories – if I think hard enough. Like, that time I got a biscuit in Saudi Arabia. After flying from New Delhi to Dubai, I was in the waiting room for my flight to Los Angeles in the airport, if you could even call it that. It’s more like an extensive shopping mall that people can also fly into and out of. The amount of stores, man. But anyway, a nice man handed people snacks. Luckily, I didn’t die from accepting such a thing from a stranger, making my story even better. Or, the time I was yelled at for stopping at a water fountain. And the time some guy told me that he plays basketball for Kansas State. Then, there was the time I met a girl that I follow on tumblr. And the time we creeped on some weddings – and the other time a fake wedding caused real tension. Oh, and also, the time I helped turn a fountain into a bubble bath.

Truthfully, you’ve got to try a little if you want some stories to tell. Like, I don’t know, break some rules. Say yes more often. Go to things. Do things. Earlier today, I got to hear Chaz Bono, Cher and Sonny Bono’s son, speak for an hour. I didn’t have to go, but I did. Because, like, stories.

So if I want more stories to tell, maybe I should do more things. The ones my mom lets me do, anyway.

Leave a Reply

