A “Major” Decision

Last December, my sister and I got smoothies at this cool place. I once saw an employee with dreads there, so believe me when I say that it is, indeed, a cool place. My sister mentioned that she lives in Arizona and attends dental school there, and the employee that we paid seemed interested. On the way back, I told my sister, “Wow, once you know what you’re doing with your life – you actually have something intriguing to tell people. I mean, I don’t even have a major. I have a blog, but it’s not the same.”

Well, I’m about to declare a major. After this semester, I’ll have completed the better part of my general education units – leaving me no choice but to take other classes. Declaring a major is challenging. There are numerous options – and the one you end up choosing basically decides how your life will be upon completion of all schooling. I figured it out, though – I want to major in Journalism.

“Now that you know, everything will be a little easier, right?”

Ha. Ha. Ha. Ha. Ha. Ha. Ha. Ha. Ha. Ha. Ha. Ha. Ha. Ha. Ha. Ha. Ha. Ha. Ha. Ha. Ha. Ha. Ha. Ha. Ha. Ha. Ha. Ha. Ha. Ha. Ha. Ha. Ha. Ha. Ha. Ha. Ha. Ha. Ha. Ha. Ha. Ha. Ha. Ha. Ha. Ha. Ha. Ha. Ha. Ha. Ha. Ha. Ha. What are you, a comedian? Well, to be exact, I’m the comedian – because I wrote that. One awesome thing about writing is that I get to create jokes for whoever is reading. You just don’t get opportunities like that in face to face conversations. Also, I get to choose how much I laughed. I ha’d this 53 times. I can’t do that verbally – I just don’t have the lung capacity.

No, my life hasn’t gotten easier because I now know that I want to get a Bachelor’s degree in Journalism, then attend graduate school for a Master’s and hopefully write for a newspaper, magazine, or website. It’s still pretty hard – mostly because I’m Indian.

Majoring in something that doesn’t relate to science or math is peculiar for an Indian. It’s often expected that we should aspire to have a career in or related to the medical field – sometimes, a doctor. My sister graduated college with a degree in Biology and my mother is currently a nurse. What if I had decided to go the “typical” route? I could’ve decided to aim to be a psychologist. It’s not exactly science, but it’s still good enough for my mother. I can’t even begin to imagine how much she’d love to hear me say that I desire to major in Nursing. Those options (or other related ones) would’ve been acceptable.

Instead, I chose to be a disappointment. Is that sentence the punch line of my hilarious life, or a burden I feel that I carry every day?

I haven’t decided yet.

Half of me thinks it’s great. I mean, I could’ve been a lot worse. Have I dropped out of college? Did I become a belieber? Am I a communist? No, I’m just an Indian that wants to be a Journalism major.

But when I’m not joking about it, I’m sad about it. I wish I could both make myself happy and my mother proud, but I just don’t know if it’s possible. She’s given me everything that I could possibly want – plus so much more, and now she has to deal with my selfishness. I chose this major for myself and myself only. Later, I might regret doing this. But I repetitively remind myself that if I choose my major, I’ll be the one that has to live with it whereas if my mother chooses my major, I’m still the one that has to live with it.

I wish that the fact that I want to major in Journalism wasn’t such a huge deal to everyone else, but it is. People just think it’s weird. I don’t get it, though. Sure, I’m breaking a stereotype – but I think everyone does that in some way. Nobody 100 percent abides by the expectations of their friends, family, and society. It’s practically impossible to do so.

According to Spiritofcaring.com. dentistry used to be a male – dominated profession. The percentage of female dentists has increased as years have gone by. By 2015, the male to female dentist ratio should become 60 to 40. It’s relatively close to half and half, sure – but my sister is still somewhat breaking the norm by being a woman and a dental school student.

It’s not just my mother who has something to say about my choice. Last November, I was getting mendhi (often called henna as well) done the night before my cousin’s wedding. The person creating a design on my hand explained to me that although she had gone to school to become a pharmacist, she decided to make a living as a mendhi artist because it was what she wanted to do. To make more small talk, she asked me what I want to do (or am currently doing, or whatever) so I said it. You know, the J word. And she replied, “Cool! That’s not a very common path for Indians to take.”

I honestly believe that she said it in a neutral, if not positive, way. She seemed like a kind person. Also, I don’t think she’d be in any position to tell me that I should do things the normal way because, well, she decided to become a mendhi artist when she could have became a pharmacist.

I guess what I’m trying to say is that you don’t have to abide by the typical, normal way of life. There’s no way that Indian writers are completely nonexistent. The country of India definitely has newspapers and magazines. So, SOMEONE is writing over there. It’s very likely more than one person – but how impressive would it be if one individual supplied enough reading material for a nation of over one billion people?

As for me, I’m just writing for one person right now – myself. And I’m trying to do a good job of it.

Source: http://www.spiritofcaring.com/public/488.cfm

Leave a Reply

